The Policy Community Conference 2020 is a ONE-DAY program, offered twice on back-to-back dates.

The agenda for March 4th and 5th was identical.


Whether you were looking to be inspired, learn from hands-on experiences or connect with special guests and other attendees, there were lots of choices! Participants expected a dynamic program comprised of a mix of:


  • international speakers,
  • interactive workshops, and
  • unexpected activities.

PRESENTATIONS

Our Conference 2020 speakers clearly struck a chord with participants. To meet the many requests for copies of their powerpoint presentations and materials from workshops, we are pleased to share them here. The webcast recordings are best watched while viewing the presentations; transcripts of these sessions will be posted in the coming weeks.


In the spirit of the "Integrated Policy"  theme of the Conference, we hope you'll use these resources to spark reflections and (virtual) conversations with colleagues in your own policy domain and beyond. Feel free to write to us about it at policommpoli@canada.ca.

    Policy Practitioners of the Future

    Nitika Agarwal

    Apolitical



    Presentation

    Video

    Transcript

    Involving Citizens in Policy-making: Inclusive Governance and Public Trust

    Laurie Drake

    MASS LBP


    Presentation

    Video

    Thinking through data as a social and technological system!

    Tracey Lauriault

    Critical Media and Big Data, Carleton University

    Presentation

    Video

    Transcript

    Integrated Policy: A UK Perspective

    Andrea Siodmok

    UK Cabinet Office - Policy Lab and Open Innovation Team

    Presentation

    Handout

    Video

    Transcript

    Visualizing Complexity in the Policy Environment

    Enrique Martinez



    Presentation

    Video

    Transcript

    Integrating Indigenous Perspectives in Policy 

    Nathalie Gagnon

    Canada School of Public Service





    Presentation

    Behavioural Insights 

    Sasha Tregebov

    The Behavioural Insights Team


    Presentation

    Workbook

    FEATURED

    Morning Plenary Sessions | 9:00am - 10:30am

    Morning Concurrent Sessions | 10:45am - 12:15pm

    Lunch Session | 12:30pm - 1:15pm

    Afternoon Concurrent Sessions | 1:15pm - 2:45pm

    Afternoon Plenary Sessions | 3:00pm - 4:45pm

    • Visualizing Complexity in the Policy Environment - Interactive Presentation & Hands-on Activity by Enrique Martinez (@mtzenrique) [Description
    • The Finale with the Policy Community Co-Champions  

    All-Day Activity | 10:00am - 4:30pm

    • Can You Unlock the GBA+ Enigma? - Group Activity in Escape Room [Description

    All sessions from the main room (there was continuous programming) were viewed live via webcast by virtual participants. Click here for more information about virtual participation.


    All sessions from the main room had simultaneous translation. In addition, many of the concurrent sessions and activities were facilitated/offered in both official languages.

    5 à 7 Social

    On March 4th, there was a social at the Metropolitain Brasserie Restaurant (700 Sussex Drive, Ottawa). This social was open to everyone, not only conference attendees. In partnership with Policy Ignite, this social was a great way to keep the conversations of the conference going in a casual setting or make new connections.  

    SESSION DESCRIPTIONS

    Policy Practitioners of the Future - Interactive Presentation | 9:45am - 10:30am

    Nitika Agarwal, Apolitical (@apoliticalco @agarwal_nitika2)


    Get an international perspective on the mindsets, skills and behaviours for policy practitioners of the future and how we can start to exercise and hone them right now.

    Involving Citizens in Policy-making: Inclusive Governance and Public Trust - Interactive Presentation | 10:45am - 12:15pm

    Laurie Drake, MASS LBP (@masslbp @lauriedrake_)


    Democracy is under pressure and trust in public institutions is declining globally and here in Canada. If we are going to meet our democratic aspirations, we need to address growing mistrust and polarization. This means upending assumptions about the ability and willingness of citizens to play a more central role in policy-making. By involving more people in policy-making, we can create more inclusive governance and reinvigorate the democratic project —a project of personal agency, collective efficacy, and shared responsibility.

    Policy Experimentation in Action - Going Beyond the Basics - Presentation & Workshop | 10:45am - 12:15pm

    Marieke Goettsch and Teo Firpo, Nesta (@nesta_uk @mariekegoettsch @teofirpo)


    Want to try your hand at experimentation? Here is your chance! Presenters from Nesta's Innovation Growth Lab will ground participants in what is policy experimentation and some examples of trials, before leading you in a role play exercise where you will be able to develop your own experiment to test something new!

    Failure, Balance and Experimentation - Workshop | 10:45am - 12:15pm and 1:15pm - 2:45pm

    Matt Tod, Lead Facilitator, and Matthieu Bister, Associate Facilitator, Twenty-One Toys (@21toys)


    This highly experiential workshop explores the challenges and opportunities that come with failure. Through multiple hands-on games with the Failure Toy®, participants will explore the way they experiment, iterate, approach problems and respond to failure, and will discuss the role of failure in policy innovation.

    Integrating Indigenous Perspectives in Policy - Circle Discussion | 10:45am - 12:15pm and 1:15pm - 2:45pm

    Nathalie Gagnon, Canada School of Public Service (@school_gc)


    Join this circle discussion on integrating Indigenous perspectives in policy! To set the stage for this, we will review the history of Indigenous policy making in Canada and the federal government’s agenda for advancing reconciliation and renewed Nation-to-Nation, Inuit-Crown, government-to-government relationships based on the recognition of rights, respect, cooperation and partnerships. We will also review the drivers that influence Indigenous policy making in this new context and the need to develop a holistic process for policy development that is rooted in relationships in a co-development and partnership environment.

    Integrating Data in Policy - Presentation & Workshop | 10:45am - 12:15pm

    Statistics Canada (@statcan_eng)


    If you would like to gain the basics in the use of quantitative data, this session is for you! Participants will have the opportunity to work through a case study, exploring what type of evidence is needed and what the data tells us.

    Thinking through data as a social and technological system! | 12:30pm - 1:15pm

    Tracey Lauriault, Assistant Professor, Critical Media and Big Data, Carleton University (@traceylauriault)


    Data Data Everywhere! What approaches can we apply to help us think through our data systems and how can these be applied in a public policy context? Come and find out!

    Integrated Policy: A UK Perspective - Interactive Presentation | 1:15pm - 2:15pm

    Andrea Siodmok, UK Cabinet Office - Policy Lab and Open Innovation Team (@policylabuk @openinnovteam @andreasiodmok) 


    Let’s explore working beyond boundaries and “government as a system” toolkit to deliver change in complex policy environments.

    Behavioural Insights - Presentation & Workshop | 1:15pm - 2:45pm

    The Behavioural Insights Team (@b_i_tweets)


    This foundational session provides an introduction to the field of behavioural insights (BI) and an overview of the key principles that drive human behaviour. Participants will get exposure to a range of examples where BI have been applied to improve policy outcomes, focusing on case studies that align to current Government of Canada policy priorities. Participants will be walked through exercises to think through how BI might be relevant to their own work.

    Visualizing Complexity in the Policy Environment - Interactive Presentation & Hands-on Activity | 3:00pm - 4:30pm

    Enrique Martinez, Public Sector Leadership Consultant (@mtzenrique)


    A visual language easy to learn and use by everyone--the language of diagrams--is disrupting government by making operations, management, policy-making, and civic processes more transparent and participatory. This session will explain how schematic visualization is transforming the way in which public servants and government leaders are framing problems and making decisions. This is an interactive session: all participants will engage hands-on and experience the power of diagramming and low-tech visual communication techniques to clarify complex ideas and processes in the policy environment and across government.

    Small Talk: Connecting through Stories and Conversations on Integrated Policy | 10:45am - 12:15pm and 1:15pm - 2:45pm

    Are you curious about various facets of integrated policy and eager to connect with others in a meaningful way? Small Talks are a unique opportunity for just that! In the convivial setting of a living room and in groups of up to 10 participants will hear a story on integrated policy from one of our guest speakers, who have diverse perspectives to share. The story will serve as the spark for a conversation with fellow participants and the speaker. Participate in as many Small Talks as you like. There will be a roster of guest speakers and an element of surprise - you won’t know which speaker you will get!

    Can You Unlock the GBA+ Enigma? - Group Activity in Escape Room | 10:00am - 4:30pm

    GBA+ considerations need to be taken into account throughout the policy cycle (policy development and delivery). Delve into GBA+ in an unexpected, collaborative way...how quickly can you unlock the GBA+ enigma in the escape room designed specially for this conference? This 30-minute activity is available throughout the day for groups of up to 6 participants. Use the sign up sheet in front of Ottawa D room.

La Conférence de la Communauté des politiques 2020 est un programme d'une JOURNÉE, offert deux fois de suite.

L'ordre du jour des 4 et 5 mars était identique.


Qu’ils cherchaient à s’inspirer, à apprendre des expériences concrètes ou à communiquer avec les invités spéciaux et les autres participants, il y avait plusieurs possibilités! Vous pouvaient s’attendre à un programme dynamique comprenant :


  • des conférenciers internationaux,
  • des ateliers interactifs, et
  • des activités inattendues.

PRÉSENTATIONS

Nos conférenciers de la Conférence 2020 ont clairement touché la corde sensible des participants. Pour répondre aux nombreuses demandes de copies de leurs présentations powerpoint et des documents des ateliers, nous sommes heureux de les partager ici. Les enregistrements de webémissions sont mieux regardés lors de la visualisation des présentations; les transcriptions de ces séances seront publiées dans les prochaines semaines.


Dans l'esprit du thème « politique intégrée » de la Conférence, nous espérons que vous utiliserez ces ressources pour susciter des réflexions et des conversations (virtuelles) avec des collègues dans votre propre domaine politique et au-delà. N'hésitez pas à nous écrire à ce sujet à policommpoli@canada.ca.

    Les praticiens des politiques publiques de l’avenir 

    Nitika Agarwal

    Apolitical



    Présentation

    Vidéo (Anglais)

    Transcription (Anglais)

    Impliquer les citoyens dans l’élaboration des politiques publiques : Gouvernance inclusive et confiance du public

    Laurie Drake

    MASS LBP



    Présentation

    Vidéo

    Penser les données comme un système social et technologique! 

    Tracey Lauriault

    Médias critiques et mégadonnées, Université de Carleton

    Présentation

    Vidéo (Anglais)

    Transcription (Anglais)

    Politique publique intégrée : une perspective britannique 

    Andrea Siodmok

    UK Cabinet Office - Policy Lab et Open Innovation Team

    Présentation

    Document

    Vidéo (Anglais)

    Transcription (Anglais)

    Visualisation de la complexité dans l’environnement des politiques publiques

    Enrique Martinez




    Présentation

    Vidéo (Anglais)

    Transcription (Anglais)

    Intégration des perspectives autochtones dans les politiques publiques

    Nathalie Gagnon

    École de la fonction publique du Canada





    Présentation

    L’introspection comportementale 

    Sasha Tregebov

    The Behavioural Insights Team


    Présentation

    Cahier d'exercices

    METTANT EN VEDETTE

    Séances en plénière du matin | 9h à 10h30

    • Ouverture : Battre le rythme avec les Co-champions de la Communauté des politiques  
    • Les praticiens des politiques publiques de l’avenir – Présentation interactive par Nitika Agarwal, Apolitical (@apoliticalco @agarwal_nitika2) [Description

    Séances simultanées du matin | 10h45 à 12h15

    Séance spéciale | 12h30 à 13h15

    Séances simultanées de l'après-midi | 13h15 à 14h45

    Séances en plénière de l'après-midi | 15h à 16h45

    • Visualisation de la complexité dans l’environnement des politiques publiques – Présentation interactive & exercices pratiques par Enrique Martinez (@mtzenrique) [Description]  
    •  Mot de la fin : Baisser de rideau avec les Co-champions de la Communauté des politiques 

    Activités de la journée | 10h à 16h30

    • Pouvez-vous résoudre l’énigme de l’ACS+? Activité de groupe dans la salle d’évasion [Description

    Toutes les séances de la salle principale (il y avait une programmation continue) pouvaient être regardées en direct sous forme de webiffusion par des participants virtuels. Cliquez ici pour de plus amples informations sur la participation virtuelle.


    Toutes les séances de la salle principale comportaient également une traduction simultanée. De plus, beaucoup des séances simultanées et des activités étaient animées/offertes dans les deux langues officielles.

    Activité sociale de 5 à 7

    Le 4 mars, un 5 à 7 a eu lieu au Metropolitain Brasserie Restaurant (au 700, promenade Sussex à Ottawa). Cette activité sociale était ouverte à tous, pas seulement aux participants à la conférence. Offerte en partenariat avec Politique s’enflamme cette activité sociale était un excellent moyen de poursuivre les conversations de la Conférence dans un cadre décontracté ou d’établir de nouveaux liens.  

    DESCRIPTIONS DES SESSIONS

    Les praticiens des politiques publiques de l’avenir – Présentation interactive | 9h45 à 10h30

    Nitika Agarwal, Apolitical (@apoliticalco @agarwal_nitika2

     

    Bénéficier d'une perspective internationale sur les états d'esprit, les compétences et les comportements des praticiens des politiques de l’avenir et sur la manière dont vous pouvez les exercer et les peaufiner dès maintenant.

    Impliquer les citoyens dans l’élaboration des politiques publiques : Gouvernance inclusive et confiance du public - Présentation interactive | 10h45 à 11h45

    Laurie Drake, MASS LBP (@masslbp @lauriedrake_)


    La démocratie est sous tension et la confiance envers les institutions publiques est en recul dans le monde entier, tout comme ici au Canada. Si nous voulons atteindre nos aspirations démocratiques, nous devons nous attaquer à la méfiance et à la polarisation croissantes. Ce qui signifie renverser les présuppositions quant à la capacité et à la volonté des citoyens de jouer un rôle plus central dans l’élaboration des politiques. En faisant intervenir plus de gens dans l’élaboration des politiques, nous pouvons créer une gouvernance plus inclusive et redynamiser le projet démocratique — un projet d’agentivité, d’efficacité collective et de responsabilité partagée.

    L’expérimentation en politique publique mise en action! Passons à l’étape supérieure - Présentation & atelier | 10h45 à 12h15

    Marieke Goettsch et Teo Firpo, Nesta (@nesta_uk @mariekegoettsch @teofirpo)


    Vous voulez essayer l'expérimentation? Voici votre chance ! Les présentateurs de Innovation Growth Lab de Nesta expliqueront ce qu'est l'expérimentation en politique et donneront des exemples d'essais. Ils vous guideront ensuite dans un exercice de jeu de rôles où vous pourrez développer votre propre expérience pour tester quelque chose de nouveau!

    Échec, équilibre et expérimentation - Atelier | 10h45 à 12h15 et 13h15 à 14h45

    Matt Tod, Facilitateur principal, et Matthieu Bister, Facilitateur associé, Twenty-One Toys (@21toys)


    Cet atelier, hautement expérientiel, consiste en une découverte des difficultés posées et des possibilités offertes par un échec. Les participants expérimenteront, dans le cadre de plusieurs jeux pratiques avec le Failure Toy®, la façon dont ils intègrent, abordent les problèmes et réagissent à l’échec, et ils débattront du rôle de l’échec dans l’innovation des politiques publiques.

    Intégration des perspectives autochtones dans les politiques publiques – Cercle de discussion | 10h45 à 12h15 et 13h15 à 14h45

    Nathalie Gagnon, École de la fonction publique du Canada (@ecole_gc)


    Joignez-vous à ce cercle de discussion sur l’intégration des perspectives autochtones dans les politiques publiques! L’étude de l’élaboration des politiques autochtones au Canada et du programme du gouvernement fédéral pour l’avancement de la réconciliation et le renouvellement de la relation (fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat) de nation à nation, de gouvernement à gouvernement, et entre Inuits et la Couronne, servira à la mise en contexte de cette discussion. Un examen des facteurs qui influencent l’élaboration des politiques autochtones dans le contexte actuel de même que le besoin d’établir un processus global d’élaboration des politiques qui est ancré autant dans les relations que dans un environnement de co-développement et de partenariat seront discutés.

    Intégrer les données dans les politiques publiques – Présentation & atelier | 10h45 à 12h15

    Statistique Canada (@statcan_fra)


    Si vous souhaitez acquérir les bases sur l'utilisation de données quantitatives, cette session est pour vous! Les participants auront l'occasion de travailler sur une étude de cas en explorant le type de preuves nécessaires et ce que les données nous indiquent.  

    Penser les données comme un système social et technologique! | 12h30 à 13h15

    Tracey Lauriault, Professeur adjointe, Médias critiques et mégadonnées, Université de Carleton (@traceylauriault)


    Des données, des données partout! Quelles approches pouvons-nous utiliser pour nous aider à réfléchir à nos systèmes de données et comment les appliquer dans un contexte de politiques publiques? Venez le découvrir!

    Politique publique intégrée : une perspective britannique – Présentation interactive | 13h15 à 14h15

    Andrea Siodmok, UK Cabinet Office - Policy Lab et Open Innovation Team (@policylabuk @openinnovteam @andreasiodmok)


    Explorons la possibilité de travailler au-delà des limites et comment la boîte à outils «du gouvernement comme un système» peut entraîner le changement dans un environnement de politiques publiques complexes.

    L’introspection comportementale - Présentation & atelier | 13h15 à 14h45

    The Behavioural Insights Team (@b_i_tweets)

    Cette séance de base se veut une introduction au domaine de l’introspection comportementale et donne un aperçu des grands principes qui orientent le comportement humain. Les participants se verront présenter différents exemples où l’introspection comportementale est mise en application pour améliorer les résultats, en examinant des études de cas qui s’alignent sur les priorités actuelles du gouvernement du Canada en matière de politiques. Les participants s’exerceront et réfléchiront à la façon dont l’introspection comportementale peut être utile pour leur propre travail.

    Visualisation de la complexité dans l’environnement des politiques publiques – Présentation interactive & exercices pratiques | 15h à 16h30

    Enrique Martinez, Consultant en leadership dans le secteur public (@mtzenrique)


    Un langage visuel facile à apprendre et à utiliser — la langage des diagrammes— perturbe le gouvernement en rendant les activités opérationnelles, la gestion, l’élaboration de politiques et les progrès civiques plus transparents et participatifs. Au cours de la séance, nous expliquerons comment la visualisation schématique transforme la façon dont les fonctionnaires et les dirigeants du gouvernement définissent les problèmes et prennent des décisions. Il s’agit d’une séance interactive où tous les participants pratiqueront et mettront à l’essai le pouvoir des diagrammes et des techniques de communication à faible technicité en vue de clarifier des idées et des processus complexes dans le domaine des politiques publiques et à l’échelle du gouvernement.

    Piquez une jasette : Des histoires et des conversations sur l’intégration des politiques publiques | 10h45 à 12h15 et 13h15 à 14h45

    L’activité Piquer une jasette est une occasion unique de connaître les perspectives de praticiens des politiques de tous les horizons ! Dans le cadre d’une conversation de salon, en groupes de dix personnes au maximum, un invité partagera son histoire d’intégration de politiques publiques. Cette histoire servira de déclencheur pour une conversation entre lui et les participants. Participez à autant d’activités Piquer une jasette que vous le souhaitez. Il y a plusieurs invités et un élément de surprise : vous ne saurez pas à l’avance quel conférencier vous entendrez!

    Pouvez-vous résoudre l’énigme de l’ACS+? Activité de groupe dans la salle d’évasion | 10h à 16h30

    Les facteurs d’ACS+ doivent être pris en considération tout au long du cycle des politiques (de l’élaboration à la mise en œuvre des politiques). Examinez l’ACS+ de façon inattendue et collaborative...à quelle vitesse pouvez-vous solutionner l’énigme d’ACS+ dans la salle d’évasion conçue spécialement pour cette conférence? Cette activité de 30 minutes est offerte tout au long de la journée aux groupes d’au plus 6 participants. Réserver votre place sur la feuille d’inscription qui se trouve à la salle Ottawa D.